The Malaysian Ecotourism Association (MEA) was officially formed in July 2007. The idea to form a national association was mooted in the Asia Pacific Ecotourism Conference (APECO) 2006 held in Taman Negara, Malaysia. The conference concluded with the Taman Negara Declaration of which included among the affirmative actions, the call for the establishment of national ecotourism associations in the Asia Pacific region.


The formation of the Association was long overdue as the National Ecotourism Plan was adopted in 1996 and there was no industry representation at that time.


The Association’s Executive Council is comprised of a team of tourism professionals with years of tourism experience and academic professors renowned in tourism as well as environmental science. The 13-member Executive Council, as stipulated by MEA’s constitution, is a composition of elected travel trade professionals (60%), academia (20%) and institutions/individuals (20%). This is to ensure that MEA has a strong foundation in professionalism, research and intellectual integrity in spearheading the development of ecotourism in Malaysia.


© Malaysian Ecotourism Association (MEA)
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management